W5D3 - Overachieving on personal goals

It’s the last day of January, I thought it’s worth reviewing the goals I set out for the year - I’m done on 3 out of the 5.

2. Text transcription

I started with OpenAI’s Whisper model to transcribe audio recordings, running it locally took 8 hours for 1 hour of audio. I looked into using Modal to be able to run it in the cloud on GPUs. I went to a LangChain meetup and discovered the quantized version of Whisper, which cuts down the local running time from 8 hours to 2 hours. We could do better, sure, but this solves my use case.

4. Twitter bookmarks

I tried out using Twitter’s API but got stuck at auth issues, and I didn’t have confidence the API would work as intended given the issues the company is having. I came across Dewey but didn’t want to pay $10 / month. It turns out it’s easy enough to inspect requests from Chrome and paginate your way to glory.

5. ChatGPT conversations

At the Applied ML RC event I was told now you can just download your conversation. OK I guess we’re done.