W1D1 - My ideal personal productivity suite

My belief is you’re most motivated to solve problems you personally face. There are a few problems I’d like to give a good whack at in 2024.

1. Photo curation

I’ll take multiple photos of the same thing and manually choose the best, except more often than not I don’t get around to the latter. What if I have a way to easily:

  • Find photos that are most similar to others to choose from
  • Retain the one I choose and move the rest to S3 / Google Drive
  • Eventually build a recommender, so I end up confirming the recommender’s choice instead of having to make the choice myself?

2. Text transcription

I started journaling my thoughts and find I do this best on paper, or in a pinch, through a recording. What if I have a way to easily convert my handwritten notes and voice recordings to text?

3. Personal finance

I’ve been meaning to look into IRAs and 529s. What if there’s a way for me to easily figure out which ones I should set up, how much and when?

4. Twitter bookmarks

I bookmark on Twitter a lot, but find it hard to search through them. What if I have a way to easily store and query the bookmarks (in fact this was the project I started with the first time at RC)?

5. ChatGPT conversations

I use ChatGPT a lot, but find it hard to search through them. What if I have a way to easily store and query the conversations?


The last item is perhaps a give-away to what I think will make solving these easier this time around - ChatGPT.

If these are problems you share, I’d love to hear from you!