W2D5 - There are no villains in the workplace

We drove up to Point Reyes today, so another sparse post.

I completed Advent of Code Day 6. The instructions clearly refer to a hypothetical Camel Cards game, but I implemented a poker hand strength evaluator which worked for the example which didn't work for the puzzle input. I went down a rabbit hole trying to debug Part 1, and I was not in a good mood when I started working on Part 2 (especially since I had to wait after the trip).

Cindy Wu and I co-organized an RC meetup in SF! It was great seeing people at the start of the New Year. I made a note to listen to Avery Burke and Stevie Hryciw being featured in the podcast Topic Lords.

I did get to listen to Will Larson's interview on Lenny's Podcast. This quote stood out to me.

People create simplistic narratives to find villains that they work with. There are no villains in the workplace. They're just people with complex incentives that are doing complex things.