RC W2D1 - Sequels are hard

In my previous post, I shared snippets from my RC application and how my plans have changed over the first week. This was inspired by Cindy Wu sharing her own RC application, amusingly when she had trouble writing about RC.

I share this sentiment. My Week 1 recap from my first batch in Fall 2020:

What can I say? Week 1 of RC has been a blast! It’s affirming seeing the diversity of backgrounds and knowledge. As a self-taught programmer, this week helped illuminate how the path towards mastery is not linear. It’s multi-dimensional.

The prior recap, however, also had a quote by Paulo Coelho, a recording of Glenn Gould’s Goldberg Variations, the Jiro Dreams of Sushi trailer, and an FT Weekend article on the École Nationale d'Administration moving from Paris to Alsace (now permanently closed). These were snippets collected over the years, waiting to be shared with the world.

It’s true what Naval Ravikant says about sequels.

Maybe the first run, they took an idea they’ve had for a decade or three decades and they expounded on it and it sounded great. And then in the sequel, whether it’s a book or a movie, they have to come up with something equally good, but they only have two years to do it. And it’s just really difficult to do.