RC W10 - We will find it

I've been keeping track of happenings in the week, for the purposes of sharing in a blog post. Amusingly there isn't as much as I'd like to share.

I do have a follow up from a prior post on long-term goals. There are those who can see their long-term goals more clearly, and others who take one step at a time. I consider myself in the latter camp. In particular, there are those who 'specialize' in pursuit of their goals; I choose duality.

Live in duality. Embrace it. Math + law. Theory + practice. Python + everything other than Python.

The key theme in pursuit of those goals is showing up. Patrick O'Shaughnessy calls it 'persistence through randomness'. Have faith. Keep going. We will find it.

One of my favorite phrases picked up in the past two years is the Shangaan phrase Hi Ta Xi Uma, which I learned from Renias Mhlongo, one of the top trackers in Africa. It means “we will find it,” and Renias will keep muttering it when he loses his track and struggles to find the next one. Everything is hard, and usually much harder than we can fathom. All the best people I’ve met through the podcast just don’t let that stop them. They also seem to develop an awareness of this constant difficulty and just become used to it.